Flora Reviews… Southern Spirits (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #1) by Angie Fox

Flora Reviews…

Southern Spirits (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #1)

by Angie Fox

 

Read: 10th – 11th July 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

 

…So what’s this book about?

Southern Spirits is a paranormal novel of approximately 270 pages that would also sit well in the ‘cozy mystery’ genre and is the first book in the Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries series (currently a 5 book series with plans for 2 more). The tale is set in our modern world and features lots of ghosts.

If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know, I don’t post spoilers of any kind or reveal any plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

One simple mistake…
For a girl who is about to lose her family home,
Releases the ghost of a long-dead gangster,
And opens Verity Long’s eyes to a whole new world.

When out of work graphic designer Verity Long accidentally traps a ghost on her property, she’s saddled with more than a supernatural sidekick—she gains the ability see spirits. It leads to an offer she can’t refuse from the town’s bad boy, the brother of her ex and the last man she should ever partner with.

Ellis Wydell is in possession of a stunning historic property haunted by some of Sugarland Tennessee’s finest former citizens. Only some of them are growing restless—and destructive. He hires Verity to put an end to the disturbances. But soon, Verity learns there’s more to the mysterious estate than floating spectres, secret passageways, and hidden rooms.

There’s a modern day mystery afoot, one that hinges on a decades-old murder. Verity isn’t above questioning the living, or the dead. But can she discover the truth before the killer finds her?

I was lucky enough to find this book for free from Amazon UK – what a bargain!!

 

 …So, what did I like about it?

Angie Fox is a new-to-me author and I really liked her writing style; I found this book very easy to read. I liked the way she wove all the elements of this story together; the mystery, the strained relationship between Verity and the rest of the townsfolk of Sugarland, Tennessee, Verity’s financial struggle to save her family home and, of course, the ghosts and their issues. I must just say that I usually work out the mystery in these sorts of books before the big reveal at the end but that wasn’t the case with this one and I loved that!

I loved that the characters, both living and dead, were complex and dimensional with their own stories and I liked the twists and quirks that Ms Fox created in her paranormal world of spirits. I must also add that the fictional town of Sugarland was also richly drawn; steeped with history and charm and so well described, I was easily transported there.

I prefer to read stories with intelligent, witty heroines who have plenty of gumption and resilience and who never give up. Our leading lady here does not disappoint.

Although I wouldn’t class this as a romance novel, I enjoyed how the friendship between Verity and Ellis (and Frankie) builds throughout this book; the pace felt very natural and realistic and I can image that a romance between Verity and Ellis will blossom in future books.

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope, nothing.

 

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I really loved this book; although it is a quick read it doesn’t lack depth! I was gripped; I had to see what would happen next, thinking just one more page or just this chapter.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys ‘cozy mysteries’ with a paranormal focus. We get a sneaky teaser from the next book in the series The Skeleton in the Closet; I have already added the rest of the series to my Amazon wish list.

So, has my review of SOUTHERN SPIRITS (SOUTHERN GHOST HUNTER MYSTERIES #1) sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See SOUTHERN SPIRITS on Goodreads.com

Buy SOUTHERN SPIRITS on Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit ANGIE FOX ‘s own little corner of the web, connect on Facebook or see what she’s up to on Twitter

Leave a Reply

