Flora Reviews… Tempted by a Rogue Prince (Eternal Mates #3) by Felicity Heaton

Flora Reviews…

Tempted by a Rogue Prince (Eternal Mates #3)

by Felicity Heaton

 

Read: 10th – 11th January 2015

Re-Read: 29th – 30th June 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

 

So, what’s this book about?

This is a paranormal romance novel (approx 252 pages) mainly featuring elves, demons and witches with vampires, shapeshifters and humans also making appearances and is set in the same world as Ms Heaton’s Vampire Erotic Theatre  series. Tempted by a Rogue Prince is the third book of Ms Heaton’s Eternal Mates series (there will be 15 books in the series by the end of 2017) you don’t need to read the previous books in the series to enjoy this one although there are cross-over characters and the build up to this storyline began in the previous books. Having said that, any relevant information is found within this book and the romance aspect of the tale is concluded by the end in Ms Heaton’s signature HEA style.

Now as my regular followers will know, I never post any spoilers or reveal plot twists in my reviews, so this is what the official blurb says:

An elf prince on the verge of losing himself to the darkness, Vail is maddened by the forty-two centuries he was under the control of a witch and forced to war with his brother. Now, he roams Hell seeking an escape from his terrible past and the heads of all who bear magic. When demons of the Fifth Realm capture him, he sees a chance to end his existence, but when he wakes in a cell to a beautiful female, he finds not death but his only shot at salvation—his true fated mate.

Captured by the enemy of the Third Realm when the war ended, Rosalind has spent months in the cells of the Fifth Realm with her magic bound, forced to heal the new king’s demon warriors, and haunted by the lives she has taken. When she’s brought to heal an unconscious man, she discovers her only hope of escape has come in the form of her worst nightmare and the first part of a prediction that might spell her doom—a devastatingly handsome and dangerous dark elf prince.

Unwilling to fall under the control of anyone ever again, Vail must escape before the Fifth King can use him as a pawn in a deadly game of revenge, but he cannot leave without Rosalind, the woman who looks at him with dark desire in her stunning eyes and awakens a fierce hunger in his heart. A witch who drives him mad with need even as the darkness within whispers she will enslave him too.

Can Rosalind escape her fate as they embark on a journey fraught with danger and resist the temptation of her rogue elf prince? And can Vail overcome the memories that madden him in order to seize his chance for salvation and the heart of his fated female forever?

 

So, what did I like about it?

I am already a fan for Ms Heaton’s writing style; the journeys she takes us on, the fighting, the passion, the romance and… I feel that I’ve got to mention the sex; her books are quite erotic paranormal romance tales, however, Ms Heaton makes the most explicit sexual scenes very romantic (I think she’s a very talented writer to accomplish this), these erotic interludes are balanced really well with beautifully written descriptions of the characters’ internal dialogue and her main love couple in this tale, Vail and Rosalind, certainly have more than their fair share of trials and tribulations to contend with.  For me, a story is only really erotic if I’m emotionally connected to the characters involved and Ms Heaton gives her characters such depth that they do become real; Vail and Rosalind, have earned a special place in my heart and I look forward to seeing them appear in future books.

I must just mention that I also love that Ms Heaton crafts some rather beautiful interweaving stories into her books featuring the secondary and supporting characters (I hope to read a book about a certain incubus in the future, Ms Heaton *hinthint*). I love that it’s not just her main characters that have depth of personality and intriguing back stories but all of the characters Ms Heaton introduces into a story are complex, multifaceted and completely believable. I think it’s partly due to their very real human virtues and foibles even though most of them are mythical, paranormal beings.

I needed a box of tissues by my side, I cried so much while reading this book but it wasn’t all tears, the fighting had me on the edge of my seat and I was surprised (and relieved) when this story made me chuckle too. I love that we are kept wondering if Vail is going to be able to work through his issues by the end of his book  and loved the tender insights into both Vail and Rosalind’s doubts, their worries, the glimmer of hope and the growth of their mutual trust and love was heart-warming to read.

 

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope, loved every page, even when I couldn’t see it through my tears!

 

So, basically what I’m saying is…

I loved this book, I cried A LOT but I loved it! Great world building as always, multi dimensional strong characters that I want to find out more about and a gripping background story! It’s a tale of epic battles between light and dark, secret pasts & hidden futures, mental and physical abuse, uneasy allies and fighting all consuming emotions, however, underlining all of that turmoil this book is a passionate rollercoaster of a love story.

As with all of Ms Heaton’s books, due to the graphic violence and sexual content (it’s definitely steamy), I’d recommend this book to adults only who are fans of relationship and romance stories with a bit of fire and passion.

So, has my review of TEMPTED BY A ROGUE PRINCE (ETERNAL MATES #3) sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See TEMPTED BY A ROGUE on Goodreads.com

Buy TEMPTED BY A ROGUE PRINCE in all the usual placed including Amazon.co.uk or through Amazon.com

Visit FELICITY HEATON ‘s own little corner of the web, connect with her through Twitter or via Facebook

Leave a Reply

