Flora Reviews… Claimed by a Demon King (Eternal Mates #2) by Felicity Heaton

Flora Reviews…

Claimed by a Demon King (Eternal Mates #2)

By Felicity Heaton

 

Read: 4th – 10th January 2015

Re-Read: 18th – 21st June 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

So, what’s this book about?

This is a paranormal romance novel (approx 268 pages) mainly featuring humans and demons with elves, vampires, shapeshifters and witches also making appearances and is set in the same world as Ms Heaton’s Vampire Erotic Theatre romance series (characters from that series show their faces in this book). Claimed by a Demon King is the second book of Ms Heaton’s Eternal Mates series (currently 12 books in the series) but can be read as a standalone story as any relevant information is given within the book and the romance aspect of the tale is concluded by the end in Ms Heaton’s signature HEA style.

Now as my regular followers will know, I never post any spoilers or reveal plot twists in my reviews, so this is what the official blurb says:

 

The moment the demon King Thorne of the Third Realm set eyes on the mortal huntress Sable, he knew she was his fated one. The fiery, dangerous female awakened hungers he had never experienced before, a dark craving and passion that has consumed him in their time apart. As the lunar cycle wanes, she enters his world again and nothing will stand in the way of him claiming his forever with her—not the relentless assault from the Fifth Realm or the dark elf male determined to seduce her out of his grasp.

Intent on achieving the coveted position of commander at Archangel, Sable leads her small team into the dark underworld and the Third Realm, to a war where her allies are the very creatures she normally hunts—vampires, werewolves, and demons. Her eagerness to lead the deadly mission has everything to do with winning her promotion, and nothing to do with the kingdom’s brash, lethally seductive demon king—a king who stirred fierce desire and wildfire heat in her with just a look and an innocent touch when they first met, and has been in her wicked dreams ever since.

As the gathering storm between rivals unleashes irresistible passion that flares white-hot and the heat of the battle brings life-shattering realisations, can Sable place her duty before her heart? Or will she surrender to her deepest desires and be claimed by a demon king?

 

 …So, what did I like about it?

My regular followers will know that I am already a fan; I love Felicity Heaton’s writing style and find her stories very easy to read. She easily transports me into the paranormal world she creates, I love her complex, multifaceted characters – her characters feel real because, like us, they live in the grey area between evil and goodness and are capable of both (I hope that a certain wolf shifter gets his own book in the future *hint, hint Felicity*) – and I enjoy the twists and turns she builds into her plots. Claimed by a Demon King didn’t disappoint me.

This paranormal romance novel made me chuckle quite a lot, I am amazed that I can feel compassion and a connection to a caveman-type alpha male character but Ms Heaton writes Thorne with her trademark style and I was hooked! Sable, is exactly what I want from the main female character; strong, intelligent, funny, loyal and as far from shallow as you can get! Fabulous! Yes, I did shed a tear or two during some of the more tender scenes and the fighting and action scenes fed my adrenalin fix – in other words I was gripped and couldn’t stop reading!

I feel that I’ve got to mention the sex; this is quite an erotic paranormal romance tale, however, Ms Heaton makes the most explicit sexual scenes very romantic (I think she’s a very talented writer to accomplish this), these erotic interludes are balanced really well with beautifully written descriptions and the characters’ internal dialogue.  For me, a story is only really erotic if I’m emotionally connected to the characters involved and Ms Heaton gives her characters such depth that they do become real. I found myself getting caught up with the steam but the tender insights into Thorne and Sable’s doubts and emotions plus the growth of their love and trust in each other was heart-warming to read.

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope – hence the 5 stars!

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I loved this book! Great world building, multi dimensional strong characters and a gripping background story! It’s a tale of epic battles, secret pasts & hidden foes, uneasy allies & new friendships but underlining all of that – it’s a passionate rollercoaster of a love story.

Due to the sexual content– it’s definitely steamy – and the graphic violence, I’d recommend this book to adults only who are fans of relationship and romance stories with a bit of fire and passion.

So, has my review of CLAIMED BY A DEMON KING (ETERNAL MATES #2) sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See CLAIMED BY A DEMON KING on Goodreads.com

Buy CLAIMED BY A DEMON KING through the usual places, including Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com

Visit FELICITY HEATON ‘s own little corner of the web, connect through Twitter or via Facebook

Leave a Reply

