Flora Reviews… Kissed by a Dark Prince (Eternal Mates #1) by Felicity Heaton

Hello everyone,

I read this book for the first time back in 2014 and loved it but wasn’t really writing proper reviews back then, so I thought that I would re-read it and write a proper review. It was free when I downloaded it from Amazon UK in 2014 but as of today it’s only 99p! What a bargain!

Flora Reviews…

Kissed by a Dark Prince (Eternal Mates #1)

by Felicity Heaton

 

Read: 4th – 5th October 2014

Re-Read: 6th – 10th June 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

 

…So what’s this book about?

This is a paranormal romance novel (approx 283 pages) mainly featuring humans and Elves with shapeshifters, demons and witches also making appearances and is set in the same world as Ms Heaton’s Vampire Erotic Theatre romance series. Kissed by a Dark Prince is the first book of Ms Heaton’s Eternal Mates series (currently 11 books in the series) but can be read as a standalone story as the romance aspect of the tale is concluded by the end of the book in Ms Heaton’s signature HEA style.

Now as my regular followers will know, I never post any spoilers or reveal plot twists in my reviews, so this is what the official blurb says:

 

Olivia thinks it’s her lucky night when a dangerously handsome unconscious fae ends up on her inspection table. He’s her chance to redeem herself with her employer, the demon-hunting organisation, Archangel. But when the tall, dark and deadly immortal warrior awakes, she gets much more than she bargained for…

Attacked by his enemy in the elf kingdom, the last thing Prince Loren expects when he comes around is a beautiful angel watching over him and medical technology of the mortal realm. Hazy from his injuries, all he can focus on is the pulse ticking in her throat and the sweet allure of her blood.

One single bite reveals she is his eternal mate, triggering a bond between them that will leave him weakened until it is complete… or broken, and pulling Olivia into the crossfire of his ancient feud.

To protect his people and his mate from the machinations of a madman, Loren must risk everything by working with Olivia at Archangel to find a way to break the bond blossoming between them.

But will Loren be strong enough to place duty before desire and give up the one thing he has waited millennia for and craves above all others—his eternal mate? And will Olivia be able to resist the incredible heat that burns between them and the temptation of her dark prince’s kiss?

 

 …So, what did I like about it?

I am already a fan; I love Felicity Heaton’s writing style and find her stories very easy to read. I feel transported into the paranormal world she creates, love her complex, multifaceted characters and enjoy the twists and turns she builds into her plots. This story didn’t disappoint.

Now, I’ve gotta mention the sex; this is quite an erotic paranormal romance tale but I love the way Ms Heaton makes the most explicit sexual scenes very romantic (I think she’s a very talented writer to accomplish this), these erotic acts are balanced nicely with beautifully written descriptions and inner dialogue.  For me, a story is only really erotic if I’m emotionally connected to the characters involved, Ms Heaton gives her characters such depth that they become real. So of course, I got caught up with the naughty shenanigans (who wouldn’t *blush*) but the tender insights into both Loren and Olivia’s doubts and feelings and the growth of their trust in each other’s love was heart-warming to read.

This PNR made me chuckle, I shed a tear or two, the fighting and action fed my adrenalin and the passion put fire in my blood. In other words I was gripped and couldn’t stop reading.

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope – hence the 5 stars even the second time around!

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I loved this book! Great world building, multi dimensional strong characters and a gripping background story! It’s a tale of epic battles, secret histories & hidden foes, uneasy allies & new friendships and all consuming emotions but underlining all of that – it’s a passionate rollercoaster of a love story.

Due to the sexual content, I’d recommend this book to adults only – it’s definitely steamy – who are fans of relationship and romance stories.

So, has my review of KISSED BY A DARK PRINCE (ETERNAL MATES #1) sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See KISSED BY A DARK PRINCE on Goodreads.com

Buy KISSED BY A DARK PRINCE through the usual places, including Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com

Visit FELICITY HEATON ‘s own little corner of the web, connect through Twitter or via Facebook

2 thoughts on “Flora Reviews… Kissed by a Dark Prince (Eternal Mates #1) by Felicity Heaton

Leave a Reply

