Flora Reviews… Twisted Luck by Mia Downing

Flora Reviews…

Twisted Luck

by Mia Downing

Read: 5th – 6th June 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  4 Stars

 

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (Season Publishing) after making a request via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks! 🙂

 

So what’s this book about?

Twisted Luck is a standalone novel of approximately 400 pages. It is a classic paranormal romance and would happily sit in the erotica or adult genre due to the amount of sex our main couple engage in. The tale is set in our modern world and features demons alongside our human characters.

If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know, I don’t post spoilers of any kind or reveal any plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

When I told him to go to hell, I never realized it would be a trip for two.

All I wanted was luck—the good kind. I’d lost my job, a jerk hacked my bank account, and I caught my best friend screwing my fiancé. When stood up by my Internet date in a bar, I met the perfect man—tall, dark, and handsome in the most expensive suit. He was out of my league, but I didn’t want forever.

I barely remember the words he whispered under the veil of sin and seduction. I didn’t believe in Satan, God, Heaven or Hell. I thought he was kidding. A figment. A dream.

I was wrong. With one, breathless yes, my fate was sealed.

Businessman by day, demon by night, Leo Weston now owns my soul in exchange for good luck. Time is ticking as he works to secure my mother’s soul, too. Somehow, I have to take him down despite him being so damned gorgeous, glib, and devious. Will my gift of twisted luck be enough to save her and protect my heart?

So, what did I like about it?

Quite a lot actually!

Mia Downing is a new-to-me author and I found writing style very easy to read. Her descriptions, characters and plot development engaged me from the very first page and kept me reading. The first chapter sets up the pace and feel of the story; introduces our leading lady, Olivia Denning, her relevant personal background and her romantic counterpart, Leo Weston.

I prefer to read stories about intelligent, witty heroines with plenty of gumption who never give up and alpha males who are classed as bad boys but have a warm heart buried inside waiting to be appreciated. Our two leading characters here do not disappoint. There’s banter as well as chemistry; Leo and Olivia were a well matched couple, as individuals, intellectually and magically and the pace of the romantic build felt very natural and realistic. I enjoyed that Olivia’s luck was able to control the magic around her and her home but the she didn’t rely on it or get greedy and that Leo was forced to act like a human – I’ll just say toast! I loved that Olivia had her own hidden agenda – the scenes with Annie and Babu are great – and how devoted Olivia was to saving her mother’s soul. I love a truly unredeemable villain to hate and Leo’s father, Samuel, was perfect in that role.

I loved the paranormal world that Ms Downing created; the demon hierarchy and the idea of betting on futures for souls.

Although the sex starts in that first chapter (and *phew* brilliantly written – very hot and steamy), the romance element creeps in later which I loved.

 

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Not disliked as such but I did feel that that the ending felt rushed, so much so that I felt I had to knock it down a star. The rest of the book has a good steady pace and rhythm. Then, we had an explosion of action in the final 5% of the book; deals being struck, power shifting, problems resolved and secrets revealed but I still finished the book without a definitive answer to Leo’s demon status and his skill set. After the amazing read to that point, I felt a bit deflated and let down.

So, basically what I’m saying is…

This is a great paranormal romance, I really enjoyed it; it was such a fun read! The characters were fun, the plot was interesting, and I enjoyed the twists that popped in. I would recommend this book if you like books in the adult/erotica genre or paranormal romances, however, you are looking for a no sex romance, then this isn’t for you.

So, has my review of TWISTED LUCK sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See TWISTED LUCK on Goodreads.com

Buy TWISTED LUCK in the usual places including Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit MIA DOWNING‘s own little corner of the web, connect on Facebook or see what she’s up to on Twitter

Leave a Reply

