Flora Reviews… Kindred Spirits (Restless Spirits 3) by Jean Marie Bauhaus

Flora Reviews…

Kindred Spirits (Restless Spirits #3)

by Jean Marie Bauhaus

 

Read: 1st – 2nd June 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  3 Stars

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from Xpresso Book Tours after making a request via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review. The expected publication date is 27th June 2017.

Thanks for the advance copy.

 

…So what’s this book about?

Kindred Spirits is a paranormal romance novel about ghosts and the human who can see, hear and talk to them.

This is the second novel in Ms Bauhaus’ ghostly paranormal romance series; I haven’t read the first book Restless Spirit or the novella Restless Spirit: Love Letter but I don’t think you need to have read them to enjoy this one.

If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know that I don’t post spoilers of any kind or reveal any plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

When crime reporter Derek Brandt paints ghost whisperer Christine Wilson as a charlatain on the nightly news, her sister Ron, an actual ghost, is incensed. Defying her sister’s wishes, Ron takes it upon herself to haunt the skeptical journalist and turn him into a true believer. But Ron gets more than she bargained for when she discovers Derek is already haunted–by the ghost of his murdered brother, Jimmy.

After spending years watching over his kid brother with no way to communicate, Jimmy is ready to do whatever it takes to get through to him so he can move on to his final rest. Ron is happy to help, but they need Chris in order to relay Jimmy’s message to Derek. Only problem is, despite all evidence to the contrary, Derek is still convinced Chris is a fraud. And after what he did to her reputation, Chris isn’t exactly filled with warm feelings for Derek, either.

Can the Wilson sisters help Jimmy break down Derek’s resistance and accept that his brother is still present and in need of help? And can Chris and Derek put aside their mutual distrust for Jimmy’s sake? If they do, they just might find that enemies can turn out to be kindred spirits.

So, what did I like about it?

Jean Marie Bauhaus is a new-to-me author; I found her writing style easy to read and enjoyed the way she paced the plot. I thought the opening chapter was good; sets the scene, introduces us to some main characters and gives us glimpses into their personalities as well as starting the mystery aspect off.

It’s funny isn’t it, how some authors can make their characters feel so real, even paranormal ones! I liked the dimensions that Ms Bauhaus gave to all her characters here; I enjoyed getting frustrated with the gung-ho actions of Ron (Veronica – our main character’s dead sister) and I loved the emotional turmoil that both our living and dead characters went through, they all developed and by the end of the book I think they’d all grown. I did shed quite a few tears at the more emotional scenes but the chuckles helped to keep this book from feeling heavy.

Primarily, this is a paranormal romance and I loved the journey that our main romantic couple, Derek and Chris (Christine), went on. Their obstacles – real and perceived, internal and external – really added that depth that I look for in romance stories. But what I really liked the most about this book was that it is cliff-hanger free, I mean, there will be more mysteries to solve, more ghosts to help in subsequent books but the murder mystery is solved and the romance aspect is concluded to satisfy my fluffy rose-tinted heart. 😉

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Dislike is too harsh a description, there wasn’t anything in particular about this story that I disliked, however, it was all very neat and tidy edging towards Disney-esque, the murder mystery aspect of the tale is less Miss Marple more Father Brown; I knew who the villains of the book were by Chapter 15 😦 but on the plus side the romance aspect was cute enough to remind me that this is a paranormal romance not a thriller or horror story.

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I enjoyed this story – it was good. I didn’t feel that there was anything in this book that was too scary, horrific or explicit – if it was a film I’m thinking Ghost but I’d say it was more PG than 15. I’d recommend this book to fans of romance/relationship stories who also enjoy ghostly paranormal settings.

 

So, has my review of KINDRED SPIRITS sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See KINDRED SPIRITS on Goodreads.com

Buy KINDRED SPIRITS on Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit Jean Marie Bauhaus own little corner of the web.

Leave a Reply

