Flora Reviews… Cougar Bait (Cougarville #2) by Evangeline Anderson

Flora Reviews…

Cougar Bait (Cougarville #2)

by Evangeline Anderson

Read: 27th – 28th May 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  4 Stars

 

 

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (St Martin’s Press) after making a request via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review. The expected publication date is 6th June 2017.

Thanks for the advance copy.

 

So what’s this book about?

Cougar Bait is an erotic paranormal romance novel featuring shapeshifters in our modern human world.

This is the second novel in Ms Anderson’s paranormal romance series Cougarville; I haven’t read the first book Buck Naked and although I don’t think you need to have read it to enjoy this one, I’m sure that as with most series, if I had read the first book I would understand this world a bit better and know some of the secondary characters in this book in more detail, e.g. Sadie and Mathis.

If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know that I don’t post spoilers of any kind or reveal any plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

Samantha Becker is a busy and talented trauma surgeon with no time for nonsense. Her sister may have a special Shifter Gene, but Sammie is fairly certain she doesn’t have it, and she’s happy with her life the way it is. She doesn’t need the complicated Shifter lifestyle, and she certainly doesn’t need Liam Keller: Alpha cougar, Mayor of Cougarville and undercover billionaire. She hates him, but Liam is unable to get the curvy surgeon out of his head.

But the Shifter world isn’t ready to let Sammie go. She’s being stalked by someone who’s desperate for Shifter hormones, and Liam takes it upon himself to protect Sammie from harm. Things begin heating up between Sammie and Liam, but will they have to succumb to their inner animals in order to save Sammie’s life?

Cougar Bait is fun, sexy and will take readers on an emotional thrill ride.

 

So, what did I like about it?

Evangeline Anderson is a new to me author and I found her writing style very easy to read; I love the fact that Ms Anderson has created her paranormal world within our own modern one, the pace of this story felt right and I loved the balance of romantic/sex scenes and the tension of the violent/fight scenes.

This book is told from Samantha and Liam’s point of view and I never felt confused as to who’s POV we were experiencing. Both our main characters are strong, independent and very intelligent people which I love but they are both complex and have their own issues to work through which makes the relationship element in this tale feel very real.

There were lots of good sexual scenes in this book that not only satisfied my love of sexual tension and anticipation but my enjoyment of well written explicit scenes too.

I loved how frustrated I got with both Liam and Samantha throughout their romantic journey (as the reader we got to see what was in their hearts and minds, their issues and worries long before they admitted everything to each other) and I enjoyed the emotional scenes that brought a lump to my throat and tears to my eyes.

Although I had worked out who the villain was in this tale pretty early on, it didn’t diminish my enjoyment of the story; I still found myself gripped and engaged in the thriller element.

 

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

The only reason that this book didn’t get a five star rating from me was due to the fact that Ms Anderson created a world where the female shifters go through a Rejuvenation process and are consumed by a Breeding Fever, meaning that they desperately need an alpha, any alpha male, to impregnate them – their bodies over-rule their minds! So, basically similar to when my dog, Bess, is on heat. This is a fundamental part of the paranormal world Ms Anderson has created and a big part of this story (and I’m assuming future books too) but it makes me more than uncomfortable, it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I am a modern woman; I am glad that our society has moved on from women just being baby machines – our bodies our choice – and I don’t think that including this sort of uncontrolled behaviour in novels, especially ones that are in the romance genre, are sending the right message by honouring this type of animalistic instinct. Poor Emmeline Pankhurst and her daughters Christabel and Sylvia would turn in their graves!

 

So, basically what I’m saying is…

I really did enjoy this book; it was good. It ticked many of my boxes; our heroine was an independent and intelligent woman, our hero was an alpha male with a big heart and the plot itself had a mystery/thriller element, action in the form of great fight scenes, passionate sex scenes and oodles of romance of course.

I’d recommend the book to older readers (if it was a film it would be rated 15 or 18 due to the sex and violence) who are fans of paranormal romances with a bit of darkness and erotica where the romantic couple’s journey to a happy ever after ending is fraught with obstacles, danger and personal growth. It’s sort of similar to Stephanie Rowe’s Order of the Blade series but less is made of our romantic couple having a specific soul-mate that they have an unwavering desire/need to join with.

So, has my review of COUGAR BAIT (COUGARVILLE #2) sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See COUGAR BAIT on Goodreads.com

Buy COUGAR BAIT on Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit Evangeline Anderson’s own little corner of the web.

One thought on “Flora Reviews… Cougar Bait (Cougarville #2) by Evangeline Anderson

Leave a Reply

