Flora Reviews… The Fallen Chronicles: Broken Angel by Amanda Jones

Flora Reviews…

The Fallen Chronicles: Broken Angel

by Amanda Jones

 

Read: 7th – 14th May 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  4 Stars

 

So, before we go any further I just want to tell you that I was lucky enough to be given a pre-edited digital version of this book for free from the author before the planned publication date of 30th June 2017. Thank you, Ms Jones!

 

…So what’s this book about?

This is a paranormal romance novel which features many paranormal characters including, of course, angels, demons, vampires as well as humans.  Broken Angel is the second book in Ms Jones’ new series The Fallen Chronicles. The series follows seven angels who were cast out of heaven for rising up against The Deity and causing a war; Asmodeus, Azazel, Baliel, Bataryal, Lucifer, Samael and Yetarel – now known as The Princes of Hell.

The fallen angel at the centre of this book is Bataryal (also known as B to his friends); he lives life to the extreme as a way to numb the torture he’s suffered in the past – sex, fighting and salvia a potent drug for paranormals. As my regular followers will know, I don’t post spoilers or reveal any plot twists in my book reviews so here’s what the official blurb has to say:

Dancing with the devil…

Mara is a beautiful and talented surgeon with everything going for her…at least on the surface. She has a dark secret she has kept buried for centuries.

Bataryal is a fallen angel broken beyond repair…or so it seems.

Will the beautiful surgeon who saved his life also be able to redeem him, or will Bataryal’s damaged soul lead them both into the depths of Hell…

 …So, what did I like about it?

I found this book very easy to read and liked Ms Jones’ writing style; the way she created a very unique interpretation of what Hell is and how she spun her tale. I like the fact that that our hero felt less alpha more victim; she gives Bataryal a real sense of damage, of reaching rock bottom, of being on the edge and I found this a refreshing change to the usual alpha male heroes found in this genre. My regular followers will know how I crave characters who are not just good or evil but a complex fusion of both dark and light; I feel it makes them all the more believable.

I liked the fact that although the romance part of the story develops had been suggested in the previous book, we don’t actually see B and Mara take their relationship to a physically sexual level until later in the story. The sex scenes were not graphic or OTT but they definitely managed to tick the erotic box!

As well as our two main romantic characters, B and Mara, we have a few important secondary characters too; I liked the way that Ms Jones wrote sections of every chapter from different character’s point of view without making the experience confusing.

I loved the fact that some scenes made me blubber like a baby but there were also parts that made me actually laugh out loud too.

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

No, I didn’t dislike anything about the story or how it was told. No cliffhanger, so I’m a happy bunny.

I’ve gotta tell you though, at times, B frustrated me a lot but I realise that it was his journey of self discovery that we were on and if he hadn’t had issues to overcome, it would have been a very short story! 😉

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I really enjoyed this book; it was an emotional ride that kept me reading from start to finish – I was hooked! I look forward to reading the next book in this wonderful series.

I recommend this to anyone who wants read a heart-warming romance with a thrilling story to boot that will keep them turning the pages from start to finish.

So, has my review of THE FALLEN CHRONICLES: BROKEN ANGEL sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See THE FALLEN CHRONICLES: BROKEN ANGEL on Goodreads.com

Buy THE FALLEN CHRONICLES: BROKEN ANGEL on Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit AMANDA JONES own little corner of the web.

One thought on “Flora Reviews… The Fallen Chronicles: Broken Angel by Amanda Jones

Leave a Reply

