Flora Reviews… The Untamed Vampire (Last True Vampire #4) by Kate Baxter

Flora Reviews…

The Untamed Vampire (Last True Vampire #4)

by Kate Baxter

 

Read: 5th – 7th May 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating: 5 Stars

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (St Martin’s Paperbacks) after making a request via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks for the advance copy.

 

So what’s this book about?

The Untamed Vampire is the fourth book (approx 400 pages) in the Last True Vampire series – a paranormal romance series featuring vampires, vampire half breeds called dhampirs, slayers, witches, werewolves and other creatures that go bump in the night.  Each book brings us a turbulent romance between a new couple in this amazing paranormal world, while the story arc of rebuilding the vampire race and the fight to survive, evolves and continues as the backdrop to the romance.

I don’t think that it’s inherent to your enjoyment of this story to have read the previous books, however, as with most book series, when you read novels in sequence you get to know the supporting characters and the world thus adding insights and the comfort of familiarity.

Those of my followers who have read my reviews before, will know that I don’t post spoilers or plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

WILD AT HEART

Chelle is not your typical vampire. Turned not with a bite but an age-old magic, she’s the only one of her kind—and more powerful than most. Still adjusting to her endless thirst and lethal fangs, she’s desperate to discover what sets her apart. When she encounters a brutally virile alpha werewolf, she soon learns that she’s not immune to the mating call—and her own primal longing…

The leader of the ancient Forkbeard pack, Gunnar is stunned by Chelle’s lush beauty. The wild wolf inside him howls for her, but unions between vampire and werewolf are strictly taboo—even if their clans weren’t on the verge of war. Desire has never been so dangerous…but, as a malevolent new power rises, Chelle and Gunnar face an even more frightening threat. Together, they might find a way to save their clans. But can they claim their passion, in The Untamed Vampire by Kate Baxter.

 

So, what did I like about it?

I have become quite the fan of Ms Baxter’s writing style; I find her books very easy to read and love the way she creates her stories, the pace of her tales, how the plot evolves and the urban fantasy world that she’s built. I think that the balance in this story between great banter, hold-your-breath tension, kickass fighting and steamy sex scenes was really good.

Those of you who have read my reviews before know that I am an old romantic at heart, so the “two halves of one soul reunited” love story part of this tale satisfied my mushy side but it was the real relationship doubts and insecurities that both Chelle and Gunnar experience that adds a very real and contemporary feel to this love story.

I must also mention, that it’s not just our main characters that we see such complexities, every character that Ms Baxter includes has their own set of idiosyncrasies that I find they cease to be just filler characters in a book but become real three dimensional with just as much importance as our main couple.

This paranormal romance tale made me chuckle out loud, wipe tears from my eyes and I gave me yummy flutters of arousal; in short – I was gripped.

 

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope. Loved it!

 

So, basically what I’m saying is…

I think this is my favourite book of the series so far! I really enjoyed every page. It was full of emotion; it has love, betrayal and drama, exciting fight scenes and passionate sex scenes!

If you’re a fan of adult paranormal romance stories where your heroines are intelligent, witty and independent and your heroes are strong sexy alphas with a big heart waiting to be unleashed or if you’ve enjoyed reading the “destined soul-mate” theme of Felicity Heaton’s Eternal Mates Series or Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardians Series, then I think that this paranormal romance will be right up your street!

So, has my review of THE UNTAMED VAMPIRE (LAST TRUE VAMPIRE #4) ignited your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

Connect to KATE BAXTER on Facebook or visit her page on Goodreads.com

See THE UNTAMED VAMPIRE on Goodreads.com

Buy THE UNTAMED VAMPIRE through Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

If you’re interested, you can read all my Last True Vampire series reviews to date by clicking the links below:

Stripped Bear (Book 0.5)The Last True Vampire (Book 1)The Warrior Vampire (Book 2)The Dark Vampire (Book 3)

One thought on “Flora Reviews… The Untamed Vampire (Last True Vampire #4) by Kate Baxter

Leave a Reply

