Annual Reading Challenge 2017

A challenge to read more…

Since joining Goodreads.com in 2014, I have signed up to their yearly Reading Challenge. In addition to the main reading challenge, I periodically join reading challenges that the groups I belong to set, for example:

The group “Who’s Your Author” (WYA) discusses your favourite PNR (Paranormal Romance) and UF (Urban Fantasy) writers. Including but not limited to: Kelley Armstrong, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Jim Butcher, Laurell K. Hamilton, Patricia Briggs, Karen Chance, Lilith Saintcrow, Lynsay Sands, Keri Arthur, Jennifer Rardin, Kimberly Raye, Christine Feehan, Jacquelyn Frank, Ilona Andrews, Karen Marie Moning, Kim Harrison, J.R. Ward, and Charlaine Harris. It’s always fun to find out about new authors and give yourself more books to read!

This group also has a Book of the Month and an Author of the Month. While no one is required to participate in these activities, it exposes people to new authors and books and gives people the opportunity to try new things.

This year, I’ve joined the annual reading challenge that the “Who’s Your Author” group have set which this year focuses on the baddies. I will publish new posts as I go along, my first job is to go back through the books I’ve read so far this year and try to fill in as many qualifying baddies as possible!

As I post my reviews here and on Goodreads I’m not sure yet how many links I’ll add to the challenge posts here on my blog, I don’t want to bombard you with links, but there will always be a link to my Goodreads profile and you’ll have the option of searching this blog too for any books/authors that catch your attention.

Here’s what I’ve joined, wish me luck! 😉

WYA 2017 A-Z Villain/Villainess Challenge

Duration: 1 January 2017 – 31 December 2017
Read: 26 books
Rules: You can either do a mixed list or one for the guys and one for the gals. Read 26 books with male, female or a bit of both male and female characters’ names that start with the letters of the alphabet (must be first name or last name of a major character in the book).

Exceptions:
* For difficult letters (Q, X, Y and Z) the following alternatives are acceptable:
– use the author’s name either first, last or initial
-Substitute any villain/ess for a letter you’ve already used

 

Leave a Reply

