Flora Reviews… The Dark Vampire (Last True Vampire #3) by Kate Baxter

Flora Reviews…

The Dark Vampire (Last True Vampire #3)

by Kate Baxter

 

Read: 1st – 3rd May 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating: 5 Stars

 

So what’s this book about?

The Dark Vampire is the third book (approx 414 pages) in the Last True Vampire series – a paranormal romance series featuring vampires, half breeds, slayers, witches, shapeshifters and other creatures that go bump in the night.  Each book is centred around a new romantic couple, while the story of rebuilding the vampire race and the fight to survive, evolves and continues as the backdrop to the romance. I don’t think that it’s imperative to your enjoyment of this story to have read the previous books, however, as with most series, when you read books in sequence you get to know the supporting characters and the world thus adding insights and the comfort of familiarity.

Those of you who have read my reviews before, will know that I don’t post any spoilers or reveal plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

The grave threat to the tortured race of vampires is greater than ever in Kate Baxter’s THE DARK VAMPIRE. An unforgettable, intensely emotional, and hot series for fans of J.R. Ward, Nalini Singh, Lara Adrian and Larissa Ione.

Centuries ago, the vampire race was almost destroyed. Now, salvation rests upon one – the last true vampire.

For centuries, Jenner has been plagued by the shadows of his past. Now, a newly-turned vampire, he stalks the night like a wild predator, unable to satisfy his insatiable desires. Until a beautiful vampire sets his soul on fire…

Bria is pure innocence, hidden her whole life from a merciless enemy determined to hunt her down. When things become perilous, safety comes in the form of a fearsome bodyguard – Jenner.

One fateful night, Bria is saved by her vampire protector and a blazing connection is sparked. But surrendering to the powerful call of passion means breaking free from the shackles of their pasts. And with the war against the slayers more savage than ever, they must fight to survive. For the vampire race depends on it.

 

So, what did I like about it?

I am already a fan of Ms Baxter’s writing style; the way she crafts her story, the pace, how the plot evolves and the urban fantasy world that she’s building. The balance in this story between hold-your-breath tension, kickass action and steamy sex scenes was good.

Those of you who have read my reviews before know that I am an old romantic at heart, so the “two halves of one soul reunited” love story part of this tale satisfied my lovey-dovey side but it was the real relationship doubts and insecurities that added a very real and contemporary element to this tale.

I also love the fact that it’s not just our main characters that we see these complexities, every character that Ms Baxter includes feels so real to me due to their all too human foibles.

I laughed, I cried and I felt the flutters of arousal; I was gripped.

 

…so, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope. Loved it!

(Although, I must confess here that as a modern woman, I was irritated and frustrated at times with the over-protectiveness and “traditional values” that Bria experienced from her uncle, Thomas Fairchild, the rest of her coven and her soul mate, Eric Jenner!)

 

…so, basically what I’m saying is…

I really loved this marvellous story, I think it has it all; family and relationship drama, a good mystery as well as exciting fight scenes and passionate sex scenes!

If you’re a fan of adult paranormal romance stories where your heroines are intelligent, witty and independent and your heroes are strong sexy alphas with a big heart waiting to be unleashed or if you’ve enjoyed reading the “destined soul mate” theme of Felicity Heaton’s Eternal Mates Series or Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardians Series, then I think you’ll love this paranormal romance novel too.

So, has my review of THE DARK VAMPIRE (LAST TRUE VAMPIRE #3) ignited your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

Connect to KATE BAXTER on Facebook or visit her page on Goodreads.com

See THE DARK VAMPIRE on Goodreads.com

Buy THE DARK VAMPIRE through Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

