Flora Reviews… Stripped Bear (Last True Vampire #0.5) by Kate Baxter

Flora Reviews…

Stripped Bear (Last True Vampire #0.5)

by Kate Baxter

 

Read: 19th – 20th April 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  3 Stars

 

So what’s this book about?

This is a novella of approximately 94 pages set in Ms Baxter’s Last True Vampire world, however, I don’t think that you need to have read any of the novels in this series to fully enjoy Stripped Bear. It is a very erotic and passion filled paranormal romance story featuring humans and shape-shifters; I feel it sits happier in the erotica genre than the usual paranormal romance shelf.

Now, if you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know that I don’t post any sort of spoilers or reveal plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

Get lost in the powerful, sexy novella by Kate Baxter where one alpha shifter will do whatever it takes to claim the woman he can *bearly* resist…

Caden Mitchell is the ultimate alpha. Known to most as a smouldering hot billionaire, his secret weapon- the ability to shapeshift into a strong and deadly bear- allows him to be the most ruthless enforcer of the Sortiari, a paranormal organization tasked with keeping the course of Fate on the right track. But when the ailing health of his grandmother leads him back home, the luscious curves of his childhood nemesis will be too much to resist…

Leah Ridgeway never expected Caden to give her the time of day. With his abs cut from stone and powerful, strong arms, she knows there’s no chance he’s interested in her handful of curves. But Caden is tormented by thoughts of her beautiful body. And when evil threatens Leah’s very life, Caden will stop at nothing to keep her safe…and claim her as his mate…

 

 So, what did I like about it?

I am already a fan of Kate Baxter’s writing style having read other books in this series. I like the way she describes scenes be it dangerous, humorous, passionate or emotional; I instantly get pulled in, feeling part of the action. This novella was no exception!

Although this novella didn’t make me weep, it certainly got my blood pressure rising and my cheeks were a permanent pink! The passion between our two protagonists kept me eager to keep turning the pages of this story.

 

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

I must confess, after the first chapter I had to re-adjust my perception of this novella to enable to keep reading and enjoying this book for a few of reasons.

Firstly, it became evident very quickly that this novella is erotica rather than romance. I don’t mind this, c’mon we’re all grown-ups, it is great to get the old heart pumping and the temperature rising with a bit of smut. You just have to adjust your expectations because the story is all about the explicit, hot, passionate sex, vividly described for our reading pleasure.

Secondly, in real life, the kind of behaviour that our hero, Caden, exhibited would have me walking in the opposite direction – complete turn off. I don’t like it when men are that domineering and arrogant; it made it hard for me to like him and I found myself wondering why Leah would think so highly of him.

And finally, the ending felt too abrupt; perhaps we will see more of Caden and Leah in future Last True Vampire novels but it felt too much like a cliff-hanger and my regular followers will know how frustrating I find those…

 

So, basically what I’m saying is…

This is a good novella; I liked it. Once I got my head around the fact that this little novella is more of an erotica short story, I enjoyed it more. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys hot passionate paranormal erotica.

So, has my review of STRIPPED BEAR sparked your interest in this story? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See STRIPPED BEAR (Last True Vampire #0.5) on Goodreads.com

Buy STRIPPED BEAR (Last True Vampire #0.5) on Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit KATE BAXTER‘s own little corner of the web or find her on FACEBOOK.

Leave a Reply

