Flora Reviews… Saving Mercy (Fatal Truth #1) by Abbie Roads

Flora Reviews…

Saving Mercy (Fatal Truth #1)

by Abbie Roads

 

Read: 15th – 17th April 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

 

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (Sourcebooks Casablanca) via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review.

Thank you.

 

…So what’s this book about?

This book can be classed as a dark, gritty, romantic suspense story with a psychological twist, yes it does have some paranormal elements in it but would I  put it on the paranormal romance shelf? Possibly not. Saving Mercy is the first book in Ms Roads new series – Fatal Truth but as my regular followers will know, I don’t post spoilers or reveal any plot twists in my book reviews so here’s what the official blurb has to say:

First in a chilling new paranormal romantic suspense series from award-winning author Abbie Roads

He’s found her at last
Cain Killion knows himself to be a damaged man, his only saving grace the extrasensory connection to blood that he uses to catch murderers. His latest case takes a macabre turn when he discovers a familiar and haunting symbol linking the crime to his own horrific past-and only one woman could know what it means.

Only to lose her to a nightmare
Mercy Ledger is brave, resilient, beautiful-and in terrible danger. The moment he sees Mercy, Cain knows he’s the one who can save her. He also knows he’s beyond redemption. But the lines between good and evil blur and the only thing clear to Cain and Mercy is that they belong together. Love is the antidote for blood-but is their bond strong enough to overcome the evil that stalks them?

 

 …So, what did I like about it?

I haven’t read anything by Abbie Roads before but found her writing style very easy to read; her world and scene building is vivid and plunged me, feet first into a bloody, obsessive, emotional, serial killer thriller. (If you have a fear of blood, I’d suggest giving this book a wide berth.)

The pace of this tale is breathless but never rushed, it evolves over the pages and I loved the assumptions and dead ends that I found myself in; unexpected twists are so hard to find when you read extensively.

I was also impressed at how well Ms Roads crafted the horrific, gruesome bloody scenes and the balance between these and more romantic or humorous moments.

I liked that fact that the characters felt real to me (so much so that I cried and laughed with them), the plot kept me guessing and the suspense was so good I was on the edge of my seat throughout most of this book.

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Nope – hence the 5 star rating. 🙂

Saving Mercy is the first in a new series and although I was left with a couple of questions it’s a fairly self contained story; no life or death cliff-hangers! Woohoo! (My regular followers know how much I hate those with a passion!)

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

I really loved this book. It was intense and thrilling to read; I couldn’t put it down. Yes, I found some of the psychological brutality hard to read but that just added to the tension and thankfully, the romance between our two main characters, Cain and Mercy, balanced out the terror. Love, true love, can really conquer all.

I would recommend this book to you, if you enjoy reading authors like Stephen King or watching fictional crime series like Sherlock. However, due to the mature nature of the story and the graphic violence, I feel that it is unsuitable for anyone under the age of eighteen – adults only!

So, has my review of SAVING MERCY (FATAL TRUTH SERIES #1) sparked your interest? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself, or to find out more about other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See SAVING MERCY (FATAL TRUTH SERIES #1) on Goodreads.com

Buy SAVING MERCY (FATAL TRUTH SERIES #1) on Amazon.com or through Amazon.co.uk

Visit ABBIE ROAD‘s own little corner of the web

Leave a Reply

